Luciano Chessa
Art of Noises and Concert for Intonarumori

Luciano Chessa and the Opening Performance Orchestra
11 August 2019




Luciano ChessaLuigi Russolo


Sonic Circuits



Luciano Chessa (b. 1971, Sassari, Sardinia) is Italian composer, now resident in the USA, of mostly stage, chamber and vocal works that have been performed in Europe and elsewhere; he is also active as a musicologist and performer. Chessa studied composition with Francesco Carluccio and Costante Fantini and piano with Angela Aloi at the Conservatorio Giovanni Battista Martini in Bologna from 1989–96. He also studied music history with Franco Alberto Gallo at the Università di Bologna from 1989–97, where he graduated magna cum laude. He studied musicology with Anna Maria Busse Berger, D. Kern Holoman, Douglas Kahn, David Nutter, and Christopher Reynolds at the University of California, Davis from 1998–2004, where he earned his PhD. As a musicologist, he has undertaken extensive research into the relationship between the musical machines of Leonardo da Vinci and the intonarumori of Luigi Russolo. He has also written articles on this subject for various publications in Italy and the USA. As a performer, he has played đàn bâu (1-string guitar from Vietnam), musical saw and piano in Europe and the USA. He served as assistant conductor of the University of California, Davis Gospel Choir from 2001–04. He is also active in other positions. He organised concerts for the Link Project in Bologna from 1996–98 and founded its concert series Convergenze parallele in 1997. He has worked as the Music Program Coordinator of the Italian Cultural Institute in San Francisco since 1999, for which he has organised numerous concerts of contemporary music from Italy. He has taught music history and music literature at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music.

Opening Performance Orchestra is a seven-membered ensemble moving within a large genre span –  from 20th-century electronic thrusts of the musical avant-garde as far as contemporary Japanese noise music. The ensemble’s own work is based on the so called fraction music, when the initial sound is digitally destroyed, fractured, and uncompromisingly rid of all its original attributes in the sense of the credo “no rhythms – no melodies – no harmonies.”

Prepared by: GHMP and Agosto Foundation.