New Music from a Respirium

Miroslav Tóth / Zdeněk Závodný / Milan Guštar
17 September 2017, 7 PM
Colloredo-Mansfeld Palace
free entrance

Miroslav Tóth (solo for soprano and alto saxophone)
Zdeněk Závodný (solo for baritone, soprano saxophone and tarogató)
Milan Guštar (acousmatic composition)


An evening devoted to two premiere saxophone impovisations and an electroacoustic composition for multi-channel sound.

The electronic composition by Milan Guštar and two solo performances by the saxophonists Miroslav Tóth and Zdeněk Závodný at the Colloredo-Mansfeld Palace (Prague City Gallery) take place at the edge of a sonic intervention for the baroque interior. Tóth and Závodný will premiere a presentation of improvised music. Guštar then will fill the place with an algorithmic composition for 6-channel sound.

Milan Guštar is a composer, progammer, electronic apparatus builder, organologist, teacher and publicist.

Miroslav Tóth is a composer, saxophonist, conductor, and studies for a doctorat at the Music Faculty of AMU.

Zdeněk Závodný is saxophonist and artistic director for Divadlo 29 in Pardubice.

Galerie hlavního města Prahy, Colloredo-Mansfeldský palác, Karlova 2, Praha 1, historický sál, 2.patro

The concert takes place in the Baroque dance hall, which is the most splendid and probably the best preserved space in the Palace. Its decoration was completed around 1736–1737, with a ceiling mural depicting a gathering of the Olympian gods created by the mural painter Pietro Scotti and the quadraturist Giovanni Battista Zeist.

Organized by Prague City Gallery in collaboration with HAMU and the Agosto Foundation.